Sunday, October 23, 2011

I did it! A race report...would I do it again?

Three weeks ago today, I finished my first Ultra Trail Marathon. A 50K. This is my race report. It was a long race. So, expect a LONG report! Anyway, as I had never run a marathon before, or even a 1/2 marathon, I had no idea what to expect from my body! Now that weeks have passed, this race report may be like child-birth. I may have forgotten all the pain and only recall the joy. Otherwise, no one would ever do more than ONE race in their lives!  So, here goes:

Scott drove me to the race START so I wouldn't have my car. I was nervous to drive myself home post-race, thinking I'd be too exhausted to function. I knew my training wasn't all it was supposed to be. I trained with Marty for a good part of the summer, but then our schedules conflicted and I was on my own. I did some long runs solo and they felt good. But, Marty is faster than me, so I know I didn't push my own pace when alone. I was nervous for this race.

I ran a race the weekend prior as a last training run. It was a 10K trail run, so I thought this would be a good way to pace train. (Marathoners...hmmmm...is the weekend BEFORE a race too late to pace train? Oh well.) I ended up placing third woman overall, which was important only to help build my confidence for the following weekend. Although, I couldn't help wondering if running a race the weekend before was a bad idea and if I'd be recovered enough for my race! (I know, racers, I did this ALL wrong!) I also missed my last long run (due to tropical storm LEO), so I began my taper way too early. Oh, well. What's done is done. I figured I'd just do the best I could!

So, on race morning, I couldn't find Marty, my training partner. It was raining (it had been raining all morning), so I assumed he was waiting in the car with Rosanna. It wasn't raining when I left Philly at the crack of dawn, so I didn't even bring a rain jacket! Thankfully, the registration prize was a jacket. It's ugly, but I am damn proud of it! I earned that ugliness! So, I had that to wear while stretching (which I did minimally) and lining up. Still no Marty? Hmph. Too late to call...I left my cell in the car. I knew he had muscle issues recently, so thought maybe he decided to bail. Yikes. I had just talked to him the day before. So, I gave my ugly jacket to Scott, the race directors sounded the bell and off we went (not very quickly)! I have a tendency to start races quickly, but this was way longer than the longest 10 mile race I had run before, so I really had to think about pace. We got into the woods and I felt right at home.

I felt good. The first aide station was at mile 3.5. I put it in my head to just run from station to station. While 31.4 miles sounded like a lot, I knew I could do 3.5. One step at a time! But, before I go further, let me say a word about my support person. Besides driving me there, Scott, the wonderful man he is, met me at EVERY aide station with extra clothes, socks, water and food. I didn't eat any of the station food because I wanted to stick with what I was used to, which was pbj, hard boiled eggs and GuChomps, Jelly Beans, etc. (By the way, Gu's make me ill and I have a ton left...any racers want them? Email me.) His smile and encouragement at each stop motivated me. Nevermind his cute little puppy, who was also there. Scott also recorded my split times at each stop and took pics. This is mile 13.5 where I re-supplied (I can tell because I rarely took that pack off!)
Gee...am I actually SMILING still? (pic by Scott)

There were aide stations at miles 3.5, 6.5, 10, 13.5, 18.5, 23.5, and 27.  Miles 18.5 and 23.5 were hard to get to, so I wasn't sure I'd see him. No worries, though, as he found his way. But, let's backtrack. Just before the first aide station, Kate Cousineau (who ran this race last year), appeared out of nowhere as I ran out of the woods! Wow. I was never so happy to see a familiar face! She ran down the street with me, and we saw Rosanna. Hmmmm. I guess Marty MUST be here. Somewhere. Kate went to find him and I kept running. Thanks, Kate! Kate, who was my angel that day, kept appearing about a mile from the aide stations to run with us. She'd run with me, go back to find Marty, and run with him. I began to look forward to these moments! She even ran me into the finish, doing the last 5+ miles with me!

Kate running the last leg with me - this DEFINITELY got me through! (pic by Scott)

But, wait, how on earth was Marty behind me. As he said "he smoked me all summer" and is a much faster runner! I got worried that he was in pain. My pacing for the first 10 miles was excellent! I was keeping a good pace, but one I knew I also could keep up for the long haul! I was psyched. Then...at mile 12'ish, I began having MAJOR muscle spasms in my calves. I stopped to stretch as they were so bad that I was wondering if I would, indeed, finish this race. Ugh. Marty passed me and while I had had a good pace going and a good place amongst the women, I lost it!  I had to keep stopping to stretch and it took until mile 23'ish to realize I had been forgetting to take my salt tablets. Rookie mistake.  :(

Marty, facing similar issues, stopped to stretch and we leapfrogged. 10+ miles of muscle pain for me. As I had begun endurance hiking last year with the hiking gang, I think this is what pulled me through. I learned mind over matter, especially with the first few hikes I did when I had NO IDEA if I could do it. I tried to apply the same principle, which is basically just keep putting ONE FOOT IN FRONT OF THE OTHER and eventually you will get there! Mile 17 included a creek crossing, which was FREEZING! It was fun, but didn't exactly help the muscle cramping! The good news, though, was that because of all the rain, the trail was basically like a sponge. While I had to be careful about falling and sliding all over, this took the pressure off my feet. As you may know, I suffer from Morton's Neuroma, which is a very painful tendon issue on the ball of the foot. This is why I can't really run roads, but the trail is more forgiving. But on this day, I was so lucky that my feet barely hurt at all (this was a first and on race day nonetheless....not bad!)! 
Headed out of the woods toward an aide station. (pic by Scott)

Since Scott wrote down split times, I might as well analyze them! Here they are:

First 3.5 miles (3.5 total)-    36 minutes - Pace= 10 minutes/mile (good!)
Next 3 miles (6.5 total)-      31 minutes - Pace= 10 m/m (I can do this!)
Next 3.5 miles (10 total)-    32 minutes - Pace= 9.15 m/m (better!)
Next 3.5 miles (13.5 total)- 47 minutes - Pace=13.4 m/m (the calf pain started)
Next 5 miles (18.5 total)-    60 minutes - Pace=12 m/m (is the calf getting better?)
Next 5.5 miles (24 total)-    75 minutes - Pace=13.6 m/m (nope!) :)
Next 3 miles (27 total)-       36 minutes - Pace=13 m/m (ugh.)

Next 4.4 miles (31.4 total)- 55 minutes - Pace = 12 m/m. I will argue this last one as this is THEIR final time, not by Scott's watch, who did all the others. KATE ran this with me and there is no way we paced 12 minutes/mile. I think my final time was closer to 6 hours. We ran MUCH faster than that, passing other runners at this point! Kate, as my witness, even called me the "little engine that could" at this point!  

But, you can really see how the calf pain altered my times. Dang. I guess this happens to the best of us!

So, anyway, I finished! My first ULTRA! Their clock time said 6 hours, 14 minutes. I am proud that I finished and definitely loved challenging my body. And my mind. As racers often do, I had a goal I didn't quite meet. But, we all have to have goals, right? I wanted to do it in closer to 5.5 hours. Had I not made that damn rookie mistake, would I have made this? I think so! Does that mean I'll race again? Who knows. I loved the race. Actually, I enjoyed it way more than I thought I would! I think my body is now trained for endurance because it really didn't hurt at all. The only hard part is the dedication to training. I actually felt guilty when I was on vacations this summer because I felt like I should be home running with Marty. And, I missed my other sports as I couldn't kayak, rock climb or even hike quite as much! (I did finally do Yoga again this morning - it felt GREAT!) I'm not sure I want to do the training part again! But, I do think this race created an addiction to running for me...as if I wasn't addicted already!

Speaking of pain, my friends and family who met me at the end thought I looked full of energy crossing the finish line (racers- Yup, that means I could've done this faster, right?). Angela asked if I felt like crying upon finishing. In some ways, I couldn't believe it was over. It was sort of anti-climactic. But, so was climbing Mt. Kilimanjaro in some ways. I guess, while I am proud of this accomplishment, the things that bring tears to my eyes are more the special people in my life. That is true joy to me. (Does that mean I'm a sap?)

In that vain, thanks so much to mom, Scott, Sue & Scott, and Angela & Tom for meeting me at the end- EVEN in the rain!     You guys rock!

Sue-Thanks for making me an awesome sign!

Kate-you were my running angel appearing in the woods JUST when I needed you! Thanks for that surprise!

Scott-THANKS for being my running support, for encouraging me before the race, for the massages before and after and for FEEDING me later that day!

Recovery wasn't so bad! Surprisingly, I didn't actually have much muscle soreness. My knees hurt the following day. Badly enough for me to take Aleve. I had to go buy it, because if you know me, you know I pretty much refuse to take medication unless it is absolutely necessary. How many people do you know that don't even keep it in the house?  :)

By day #2, I felt okay....and started dreaming of my next race.  All in all, it was an amazing experience. One rookie mistake or I woulda likely met my goal. I felt great at the end and still had energy. I am proud of what my body can do and loved the challenge to it. I am lucky in so many ways.

About to cross the finish line! Yippee! (pic by Sue)

I did it!


Wednesday, September 21, 2011

The Pinchot Trail...a five hour run.....

 My quote of the week: Socrates

I've enjoyed this journey of endurance training. And, it really has been a journey. Similar to endurance hiking, I've never imagined all that my body can do, and as ya'll know, I REALLY enjoy challenging it. Kind of like climbing Mt. Kilimanjaro...I just never imagined I'd be here at all. Of course, this also means testing your soul as a chunk of endurance activity is mental, right? 

The greatest challenges I've experienced are not the ones I expected. I expected heat through the summer. I expected it to hurt. I expected sore muscles. I expected having challenges with finding time to fit runs in while still having a social life (it sure helped that I don't work much over the summer!)  I expected my injury to flare up and new injuries to happen. What I didn't expect was a hurricane, torrential rains and tropical storms! 

Labor day weekend, I decided to stay in town and get a long run in. (I also agreed to work, but I won't go there because WHO really works Labor Day???).  And, I wanted to spend time in Philly with special peeps. So, no kayaking and no backpacking. Instead, I took off for the Pinchot Trail. I've backpacked this trail, but in winter, so I was excited to explore it on a perfect summery day. Nevermind that it took me triple time to get there because of an accident, but it was also right after the hurricane. So, as you can imagine, the trails were a mess!  

With these long runs I need to defeat boredom and try different parks! I've realized the Zen for me is just being in the woods, not worrying about my time, and just exploring. THAT is the journey for me. So, here's my adventure:
Zero cars in the parking lot. Where is everyone?

Hmmmmm.... What do you think, outdoorsy friends.....Are these black bear tracks? Pretty cool to be running along and see them in the mud. Don't worry, mom, the bears are long gone!  :)


So, since i was running solo and this was a long run, I brought my water filter. Being a backpacker helps out life in so many ways. For example, if the hurricane were to impact my home, I have 2 tents (plus the new hammock!), sleeping bags, stoves, fuel, flashlights, headlamps. I felt PREPARED! So, the above picture was my water stop! This is also near where Julie (yup, the one who left me for Haiti) and I winter camped. 

And, HERE is what parts of the trail looked like. I'd be running happily along and get to this. Trying to keep my shoes dry (clearly, a fruitless idea!), I tried to forge around these. It worked. Briefly. Until got to a bog that looked dry and my shoe came up with 10 ounces of mud in it. Slosh. Thump. Slosh. Thump. Yup, that's what my running sounded like. Really bad for an OCD Professor.  Finally, my other foot 'slipped' off a rock and got wet too. At least they were even now.  :)
By the end of this run, I was not tired of running. I was tired of jumping! (yup, that was a link....go ahead, click on it...). Post-hurricane, the trail was full of debris. So, I was either going around, over, under or through thick detritus. My legs were torn apart. Again! (though this wasn't as bad as running through the stinging nettles recently at Heinz Wildlife Refuge!). So much for attempting nice runner legs! With all the foraging, this loop took me FOREVER. Five hours later (including the water filtering stop, food, potty breaks), I arrived back at the car. 

I also saw THIS on trail. Any guesses as to WHAT this is? 

What's next?
So, this race is QUICKY approaching. I'm not sure I'm ready. I missed my last LONG run since our 28.4 mile superhike/run was cancelled. Yup, due to tropical storms. My goal is really just to finish, keep my Zen view, and not worry about my time. Finishing is an accomplishment, right? Hmmmm...there is a time limit though; Guess I better go check that out!  :)


Gear Girl!
I forgot to mention my shoes on my last post about running in Maine. Well, I had JUST bought new running shoes for that trip. And, only brought one pair. A girl trusts her shoes to be able to do that. ZERO break-in time.  And, HERE they are:
Magic. I definitely recommend them! 
Salomon Women's xA Pro 3d Ultra 2 Trail Running Shoe Swamp/ Dark Titanium/ Light Mint

I'll write again before RACE DAY!!!!













Thursday, September 1, 2011

Running in Maine AIN'T so bad.....

So, I haven't blogged in a bit b/c Google is angry at me. See, I have like 4 jobs and 2 of these email accounts are Google-based. With this dang new Google interface, I can only log onto ONE Google email per computer now. Ugh. AND, Google wants me to separate my work google from my personal Google to log on here. Did you follow that? Exactly. Took me a while too.  :)

So, to backtrack, I had another hiking vacation in August to Grand Teton, WY. See how beautiful it is...this is my Ansel Adams attempt:

Because of all the snowfall this year, there were wildflowers EVERYwhere Brian and I went. SO pretty! Facebook friends can see the entire album...it's worth a look. I loved it so much, I think I'm going back next year (and to Yellowstone)! Needless to say, I didn't run while there b/c I was too busy hauling my @ss up the mountain! So, I fell behind in my runs. I was visiting my mom in Maine the following week and had some making up to do (lots!). I decided to get to know Mt. Bradbury State Park. All of it. When you have a 4 hour run to do, you get to know ENTIRE parks. I had biked there with Sue previously, but boy, we missed a lot of it! Here is a picture from the top of Mt. Bradbury.

It was so pretty - and I was SO behind in my running - that I decided to come back and do a hill workout up and down Mt. Bradbury the VERY NEXT DAY. 469 Feet elevation gain (mind you, this is the day AFTER my 4 hour run...did i mention that yet?). Can you guess how many times I went up it before I was basically crawling. Yup, eight! It was 1/4 mile to the top. So, basically 4 miles up and down this mountain. (I really was crawling by the last 2 laps...)  :)

I saw a woman on lap 4 who congratulated me as I was running and told me how proud she was of me (she thought it was my FIRST lap). I thought that was SO nice and supportive. People are just so kind in New England.  Then she saw me on lap 5 and told me I was just showing off! Funny.

So, I had one more LONG run to fit in between spending time with my childhood friend, Kevin, and his parents, Dick and Karen. (We visited the Desert of Maine...did you know Maine had a desert? This was new to me!). I decided to investigate locally for this last run and found the rail trail. It went through the woods where I caught many side trails and all around a marsh with egrets and blue herons. Quite rewarding. See below...how can you not LOVE that?


Part of what I've loved about hiking and I'm loving about long-distance running is the investigation of places I'd never see otherwise. You see so much more on foot than when in a car; racing past. It's great. I've also learned I like to stop and take pics (I ALWAYS carry my camera now since I missed that darn pic of the snake eating the frog!).  So, my Old Orchard Beach, Maine adventures were perfect and I caught up on my runs! Marty is also big on the ice baths post long-run. I'm a whimp. But, I did take this opportunity to jump in the ocean post run and if you've ever been to Maine...it IS like ICE water!

And....GEAR GIRL!
Thanks to the help of Kevin, I found a new i-phone app (I've totally sold out on technology since becoming an Apple'er). Endomondo. I'm sure it's similar to mapmyrun.com, but this is the one I'm using. It shows you your elevation gain, lap time, calories burned (wahoo!), a gps map of your run (super helpful for the directionally challenged), and it gives you a picture of a turtle for your slowest lap (not motivating) and a hare for your fastest (okay, motivating!). Here's an example of my last run: Wissahickon since it automatically transfers it online (I'm always better if I don't have to plug anything IN!). It's a new TOY to motivate me for a while! 

I've become a GEAR DORK. Any suggestions? I'd love to hear 'em!  

Lastly, I went on a short hike with Julie today before she leaves us to work in Haiti. She was my motivator to even get into this, the ultra runner that she is. Thanks, Julz and good luck out there! Show them what a woman can do!  :)

I don't like change. Damn Google-Don't go changing to try to please me....
Now that I'm back on, I have a few other updates...keep posted! 




Thursday, August 4, 2011

10 Pros for Trails & GEAR girl!

Quote of the Week:  It is better to live one day as a lion, than a thousand days as a lamb!


So, I survived my 3 hour, 40 minute run with Marty. Actually, better than survived! I enjoyed it! I ran slow and steady (yup, like the tortoise) and felt great! Lesson learned- IGNORE everyone else on the race course and go my own speed (which is like first gear). I've mentioned what I call my 'forever pace' where I feel like I can just keep going forever....Even when hiking, I can't push it too hard to keep up (like when Bill and Ed tried to race on our first Endurance Hike at Harriman Park...Yup, I'm talking about you two!). If I push it too hard, I burn out. Mental note.


Oh, and last blog I mentioned I had a black toenail from my mountaineering boots. I still can't believe it hasn't impacted my running (we'll see what happens WHEN it falls off!). Forget about what'll happen race day. Pretty, eh? Oh, the joys of being an athlete. Come on, athletes, you can't say it's gross, as you KNOW what this is like!  Only other times I've lost a toenail was descending Mt. Kilimanjaro and on the Appalachian Trail in PA (not sure where that last one fits!)! 
I'm FINALLY feeling good about the possibility of finishing this race! And, the cross-training is going well. A 30 mile bike ride with Paul this week. And, AFTER our long run Saturday at White Clay in Delaware (where I bumped into Andrew biking....the active world is way smaller than it should be!), I promptly took a spa bath (yup, still doing that!), and a nap. Woke up and did an 8+ mile sunset paddle on the Schuylkill River with Kevin and Kristin. When I got home, I was afraid my neighbors were going to suggest an 'intervention' for my "addiction" to an active lifestyle. They have threatened it before! No lambs here...I was a LION that day. Roar.


Trail running is growing on me....Top 10 REASONS TO TRAIL RUN. 
1. Observing wildlife-I've seen so many birds, deer, chipmunks, and recently snakes! Don't worry mom, these snakes are harmless! Well, to me. I got to see one catch a toad. And, the toad was at least 20x as big as the snakes head! The snake had the toad's leg and wouldn't let go as the toad tried to get away. I thought about intervening, but this is how nature works, right? I waited about 5 minutes to see what would happen and it was at a standstill. So, I had to keep running! I don't see THAT on the Philly streets!
2. The trees are a canopy in the rain! I got caught TWICE recently in heavy rain and the trees offered some solace. (I'd look funny running with an umbrella). They also offer protection from the sun and it's SO much cooler in the woods! 
3. Bathrooms everywhere. No lines. No waiting. No looking. It's nature, you can go anywhere; anytime!....Heck, the animals do it!
4. Muscles. I definitely feel stronger from the elevation changes and they say the hills will help my glute muscles. Well, we'll see when I put on that bikini next week! Roar.
5. Everyone is kind! There is definitely a different mentality of those who are on trails. There is a kindness that is not necessarily there in the city (like when those on cell phones walk right in front of you....yup, pet peeve!). On trails, people actually put down their cells and soak in life, for just a moment.
Okay...there's five. I'm working on it!


And, lastly, GEAR GIRL. I've always wanted to have a job where companies give me gear and all I have to do is test it out. (anyone hiring?). So, I'll just be a self-proclaimed Gear Girl for now. I already mentioned my new running pack (which I still LOVE!), but for shorter runs, I don't need a whole pack. Julie (Did I mention I'm sad she's moving to Haiti? Argh) got me THIS water bottle as a gift since she is an experienced Ultra runner:
It is PERFECT for shorter runs and doesn't bother you to hold it at all. It fits a few Gels and keys. I had a Nathan one previously, but Ultimate Direction definitely wins out. Want more detail? See below! And, you can buy it here. They do have other colors than pink. But, pink rocks.
IN two weeks, we have our FOUR HOUR RUN! Stay tuned....
And, thanks again to all of you who have been super-supportive as I tackle this journey. A journey is what it is, for sure. Hence, this blog. I'm learning a ton about distance running and, more importantly, about myself. Can't ask for more.  :)



Thursday, July 28, 2011

I love to sweat!!!

Quote of the Week: I don't stop when I'm tired. I stop when I'm done.


If you are new to reading this blog, you've gotta read from the beginning! Don't worry, there aren't too many posts. But, you have to know how I got into this mess (Read-I blame Marty!)  :)


I haven't written in a bit. Why? Because I've been too busy running! See, first, I went on vacation:
Don't I look relaxed? Let me backtrack a second. On my last blog, Marty and I were doing our first 3 hour run. It was a Friday evening and I had to 'leave on a jetplane' EARLY Saturday morning. I was afraid I would tighten up so much in the air that I wouldn't be able to walk! I was relieved that I felt fine the next day!  Wahoo.  So, we had a phenomenal time out West. 10 days. Hiked through Yosemite, Onion Valley, Tahoe, Mammoth, and climbed Mt. Whitney (highest peak in the contiguous US at 14, 505). Whitney had SO much snow left that four of us took the mountaineering route straight up the mountain! (I'm #2 below.) Best part was glissading down 1700 feet elevation loss! Major adult sledding....this was a new experience for me and so fun!     So.....back to running.....
I thought (hoped) that this ACTIVE vacation at elevation wouldn't harm my race training too much. Alas, I was wrong. I came home with a black toenail from my mountaineering boots and a blister the size of Kalamazoo. I had a 3 hour, 20 minute run with Marty that next week and I was happy these didn't bother me. But, I hadn't run in 2 weeks (minus one attempt to run up in Onion Valley) and I was hurting!!! I had definitely backtracked and felt defeated. The next day was the first time I felt like an old lady walking up and down the stairs. But, there's only one way to beat defeat and I ran my a#$ off last week! And, added in much cross training. Hill repeats. Pilates. Hiking. Kayaking. Kickball, Biking with Paul. Road running. Trail running. Two long runs side by side (encouraged by Julie). Oh, Julie, my running partner is moving to Haiti. Yup, I'm really sad. But, see why I've been to busy to blog?  :)

Let's talk about these two long runs. I am a road runner at heart, so did two road runs last week (a 10 miler and a 13 miler). I was quickly reminded by others (Thanks, Jess!) that this is NOT good for my running injury (I've been asked a lot about this, so will describe it in the next blog or two). My fave 10 mile loop (did it Tuesday) is from my house to Penn Treaty Park in Fishtown and back. I can tell I haven't done a road run in a while as I JUST noticed they built a whole new pier on Race Street. Oh well, it IS beautiful! So, Sunday, I ran 13 miles from my house and around Kelly Drive. It was hot. (Don't worry, Uncle Tom, I brought plenty of water, electrolytes, salt tabs, nutrition - and cab money, just in case!)  The sun wasn't out when I left, but came out midway. I was sweating so much it looked like I had just jumped in the Schuylkill River! But, I do love to sweat. That doesn't mean I wasn't EXTREMELY happy when the rain eventually poured down on me! So, I followed this 13 miler with a 10 miler in Wissy the next day (also getting drenched). There's a loop there I've run for a few years. Except with all the hills, I typically walked part of it. Well, on Monday, I RAN the entire thing. TWICE! (I definitely kept the above quote in my head!). It definitely hurt and the next day, that old lady came back again! But, I will beat the defeat. It was nice to see such improvement and definitely motivates me to keep going.

They say it's important to train a time or two in extreme heat. Check. And in rain. Check.

I bumped into John & Kelly on the river this Saturday. They did this race last year and were nothing but encouraging. That helps too, especially since they've been through it! Last summer was SO hot, they were telling me they got up at 4AM to run. Yikes. Kate, who also ran it last year, has been extremely helpful and has emailed me some suggestions and her positive energy helps too! Thanks, guys!  Marty and I have been extremely lucky. A lot of our long runs so far have been in the 80's. I guess the training Gods are with us (so far!)!

On the docket: Off to go run my weekly hill workout now. Saturday is a 3 hour, 40 minute run. Ouch. Sunday is a rest day and I have a neighborhood DooWop Festival and a BBQ to go to. That'll probably be about all I can handle!

Next blog: Hear about our long run. Oh, and 10 Reasons why Trail Running is Awesome! (am I trying to convince myself?)  :)

Peace, Love, Run!

Friday, July 1, 2011

The good. The bad. The unexpected.

I had my first BAD run. It did make me question what I'm doing here and wondering if the few naysayers out there were right.....Maybe I can't do this. It was a 2 hour 40 minute run and I had likely eaten something that threw me off the day before. I got through 2 hours and 20 minutes and then decided I had enough! This was the day after Father's Day. My dad is actually the one who got me into running. He had always wanted to do the Boston Marathon, but never got in. I'm not sure I ever actually wanted to do a marathon, but here I am...training for an Ultra! If my dad were still with us, I know he'd be proud. So, DAD, this run's for you!!!! I WILL do this!

I forced myself to get up the next day and RUN again. Felt much better. Since then, I've had TWO great HILL workouts, a great run with Marty at French Creek (1 hour 45 minutes)....I tried to keep up with him and felt great doing it! My favorite moment was our 'cool down' where I was huffing and puffing. I had turned off my heart rate monitor, but REALLY wanted to see what it was at, with Marty's idea of a cool down being very different than mine! And, TODAY, we run THREE HOURS.....Yikes!

Dare I mention that HILL workouts are my favorite? Here's a few other things that surprised me:
1. The worst part of training are incidentals like Lincoln Drive being shut down when I'm trying to get to the park to RUN! It's not the running!
2. The thing that hurts the most after long runs is my arm. See my arm rubs on the armpit of my shirt and I'm getting this longstanding mark....people think I'm being beaten. Any ideas, girls?
3. Other running groups leave ON TIME! (Hashers....you've created bad habits in me!) I tried to meet a group in Wissahickon early Saturday morning (need people to run with! volunteers?) and got caught in #1's traffic. Ran solo.  :(
4. I like hill workouts!
5. I like hill workouts!

Here's my newest motivation. I'm not that fast; Marty definitely has me in the dust. But, then you see something like this and it puts it all in perspective!  
So, happy running!

I've also added massage therapy into my training! My friend and therapist, Damian, has GREAT DEALS and he is the ONLY one who can dig deep into my bad back. I went yesterday and feel amazing today. If I'm gonna do this training, might as well do it right and take care of myself! I definitely recommend him and his studio.....and my photography happens to be hanging in his office, so if you go, take a look! And, he happens to have a GROUPON going on right now! But, only 2 days left! Amazing buy. $35 for a 50 minute massage. Just do it!

Here's his website (with more of my photography): Hot Hands Studio
And, I'll make it easy for you: Here's the Groupon Deal!

My fave running buddy, Julz, is injured. Turns out she has a contusion in her knee and a mild fracture from the Warrior Dash. This was not from running, but from jumping in puddles with Matt and landing wrong. Ugh. Poor Julz. 30-Something girl now seeking new trail running buddies. Beuller? Beuller?

Did I mention, a THREE HOUR Run today! Hopefully, my ship won't sink.

Saturday, June 18, 2011

Run, Pebbles, Run!

Start Slowly. Then ease off. 
My new, new mantra. I saw it on a bumper sticker of a car last time I went to do a hill workout! Luv it!
I'm not super-fast these days, but I'm hoping my endurance training pays off! I have placed in a 5K or two in my 30's...and proud of it! I mean, how else would I win a bobble-ass? No, really, here it is:



Yup. Won that, I think 2 years ago! Only award I've ever kept actually. And, why wouldn't you keep such a lovely treasure? (and conversation piece!). I believe Craig and Katherine have the same one for their respective age groups. I know Craig kept his...Katherine?  Anyway, we rock.  :)

So, I ran the Media 5 Miler last night. (Isn't this how everyone enjoys spending a Friday night? Especially after the LAST day of school?)  The race is A VERY hilly 5 miles (all in the name of training, right?). I was hoping to PR (get a personal record) and was relatively pleased with my time. I only felt like puking on one hill....guess I had too many Pretzel Factory pretzels dipped in cinnamon sugar at our End of Year Potluck for work (Thanks, Carolyn!). So, I eased up my pace even though my legs felt great...not worth puking, especially since this run was out by work! I can hear it now "Did you see Dr. Terri throw up in that race...? Ewwww!"

Media gets very into this race and line the entire course! My favorite sign on the big hill read "Hills make your butt look good!" Now, is that motivation or what? Since the course is 2 loops, they added the word STILL for the second lap. Couldn't help but laugh and well, it got me up the dang hill! Checked my previous times this morning, and well, no PR, but was top 20% for my (old) age group. I'm okay with that!  Had a street party afterward and hung out with work gals; MaryBeth, Karen, Dee, Gloria and Harriet. Enjoyed a beer or two, had a great time, and slept like a baby last night. Julie is injured, so I'm debating whether to get my run in today...or read my book club book before heading out to see dueling piano players? Hmmmm.....I wonder if other book club peeps have finished it....Sue, Bob, Jeanine, Evan, Tifanee, Marcus, et al.?

Oh, and Pebbles seems to be sticking as a new TRAIL NAME from our Warrior Dash (see last blog post). I will wear my hear in a pony tail on top of my head for the ULTRA if the name sticks....

Someone asked if I was enjoying my training. Egads! I AM!!! I had a great solo hill workout on Wednesday and was proud I didn't walk the hill without Marty, my slave-driver, there! And, I actually look forward to our long runs! (2 hours, 40 minutes, this Monday!) I enjoy the serenity of the woods and the power of my body driving forward. I like the way my muscles feel afterward and enjoy pushing myself when I start to feel the drain. It is amazing what our bodies can do. I love mine and look forward to continuing to see all it is made of.

Live well. Laugh often. Love much.