Goals- It’s always good to have them. So, when my dear kayak friend, Marty, mentions he is training for a 50K ultra trail race, my ears perk up. I’ve never run a marathon, or heck, even a half-marathon, so errr….why not run 30+ miles? I consult my running partner, Julie, whose running shoes have seen more mileage than every car I’ve ever owned! She thinks I can do this, so with her encouragement, I warily agree to meet Marty for a training run this morning.
I am hesitant as Marty started his training back in April (and, let’s admit it, he is a machine!) and well….I’ve never really ‘trained’ for anything before. So, here goes. I limit my wine intake at a neighborhood gathering Saturday night to one glass. Okay, it was really two or three, but who’s counting. I load up on cheese (because that’s good for carbs, right?) and get a decent night’s sleep. He picks me up around 9AM and we drive to Delaware. This is a sigh of relief for me as there are less hills in White Clay Park then our local Wissahickon. As a Philly girl, I’m used to flat ground, but maybe, just maybe I’ll keep up. Yeah, not so much.
We are doing a 2 hour run (the most either of us have ever gone!). The first 5 minutes feel good. Yup, that’s about it. I quickly realize I’m in over my head! Marty thinks our pace is the same. He can’t see me behind him sucking air like a Hoover. At 30 minutes in, it’s time to eat a Gu for some carbs/energy (and to practice this intake) and I can’t seem to figure out how to get the damn Gu in my mouth, let alone, swallow it, while barely breathing since I'm already winded!
And, he seems to pick up his pace! Argh. Around the 40 minute mark, I'm ready to plead ‘uncle’ and tell him I’ll meet him at the car. My ego won’t let this happen. I’m in shape, right? Nevermind the fact that I’m completely lost in this park! An hour into our run and I’m humbled. Is it too early to cry? There’s lots of mountain bikers….maybe one will give me a ride? With some gentle pleading, Marty slows down and I stop seeing stars. I actually feel, dare I say it – GOOD – at this pace! I’m used to ‘pushing’ through as I’ve started doing endurance hiking in the last year. Yup, who knew there was such a thing and I’m not really sure WHY I’m doing that either! But, it has taught me to just keep putting one foot in front of the other. With a little “I think I can”, I make it to the end of our run.
My muscles feel okay, but I’m exhausted. I get home and take a Jacuzzi bath. I let the water out and am so tired that I contemplate taking a nap right there in the tub! This is worse than my college drinking days! And, it’s only our (my) first ‘training’ run! Will the training get harder? Or easier? Should I REALLY sign up for this race and commit to the training? I have napped, eaten mac ‘n’ cheese because I needed comfort food (me and Oprah both!), and I can actually walk up and down the stairs. How about I wait to see how I feel tomorrow….THEN decide if I should do this race! Maybe it will be SOLD OUT by then! J
Sorry to hear about you injury, never heard of it, had to look it up ... and not to rub Morton's salt in it, but I've never had a foot injury except for some mild plantar facititis ... so my comments are ignorant of any pain you may or will have and any advice is qualified to not irritate in the injury.
ReplyDeleteAn ultra may actually be easier for you than doing a half or full marathon. Races are pressure, which is good and/or bad depending on your personality ... and my bet is that you would enjoy an ultra first vs a marathon. Ultras, while some are races, are much more about finishing the distance and the fun of the run ... and the experience is more hash-like.
I've only done one - the Longest Day run (I did 50 miles) on the Mason-Dixon trail along the Susquehanna River organized by Hunt - and I really didn't train for it. In fact, I've really ever truly followed a training plan for one race, the Marine Corps marathon back in 99. I think sometimes, people over train which often results in overuse injuries. For the 50 miler, the longest training run I did was the Triple Crown + a hash, almost two months prior. For the Triple Crown (22 miles in total in White Clay) this year ... I hadn't run over 8 miles in probably 6 months ... and I finished. That said, training is important, I just wouldn't obsess over it -- maybe work up to a 15 miler and maybe one 20 miler.
One thing you might consider is pacing someone on their ultra say for 10 - 20 miles, use it as a long training run -- for most ultras except for the competitive/popular ones, shouldn't be a problem ... and the friend you would be pacing would welcome the company.
And oh yeah, except for the elite runners, most runners in ultra do some significant walking, especially up hills, etc. ... cause a key to ultra running is to not cross the lactic acid threshold.
My advice, sign up, the training should get easier for you ... most of the time.
Brian/Hornblower
Good points, Brian! I appreciate your comments and I think I AM gonna do this! :)
ReplyDelete